The Institution

Governance Versão em português

FAPESP's management structure consists of a Board of Trustees and an Executive Board. The Board of Trustees is responsible for the general direction of the Foundation and the most important decisions on scientific, administrative and financial policy. This board is made up of 12 members, each with a six-year mandate.

Six of these members are freely chosen by the State governor and the remainder are appointed by him from triple lists supplied by the São Paulo state universities, and by public and private teaching and research institutions based in the State of São Paulo.

The president and the vice-president of the Board of Trustees are appointed, for three-year mandates, by the State governor, from triple lists presented by board members. The president of the Board of Trustees is also the president of the Foundation and its legal representative.

The Foundation's Executive Board, responsible for the day-to-day management of the foundation, consists of the chief executive officer, the scientific director and the administrative director. With three-year mandates and the possibility of reelection, the directors are chosen by the governor, from triple lists drawn up by the Board of Trustees.

Board of Trustees

Executive Board


Page updated on 07/31/2019 - Published on 12/10/2010